Celebrating 25 netball seasons at the Yarrawonga Football Netball Club

August 03, 2017

Yarrawonga’s 1997 B Grade Premiership team. Past players, families and supporters are invited to celebrate the club’s 25 years in the Ovens and Murray competition on August 12.

This year marks the 25th season of netball at the Yarrawonga Football Netball Club (YFNC) since the Ovens and Murray Football League introduced the game into the competition.   

So much has happened over this time and with impressive success the YFNC has achieved the club is celebrating this quarter of century milestone with a dinner for all past and present players and partners, coaches, administrators, families and supporters on Saturday, August 12.
During the past 25 seasons the YFNC has been represented in 27 grand finals winning 14 including A Grade back to back from 2009-2012.  
Then add nine OMFNL A Grade Toni Wilson medallists, three B Grade and one C Grade best and fairest medallists and numerous runner-ups to these medals across all grades.  Further the YFNC has been well represented over the years in Ovens and Murray interleague sides and can boast the club’s very own netball Hall of Fame inductee.  
Little did the inaugural 1993 YFNC netball committee know from that first season the teams from Yarrawonga would set the benchmark and become one of the leading clubs in the OMFNL competition.
From pain-staking manual set up for game day on the Yarrawonga Tennis Clubs flexi-pave courts in 1993 to outgrowing the existing netball court at the JC Lowe Oval, Yarrawonga netball has plenty to celebrate.  
On Saturday, August 12 everyone who has been involved in the club’s netball journey is invited to celebrate those achievements from the past 25 years.
The evening is a great opportunity to reminisce and catch up with friends.
For dinner tickets please call Bert Tait on 0408 577 480 or go to for details

More in Yarrawonga Chronicle
Login Sign Up

Dummy text